top of page

Learning from Dr Seuss


Have you ever re-read a book from your childhood and found unexpected lessons? When I got my Master's degree and was in a bit of an existential crisis what to do next, a dear friend gave me a book by Dr Seuss called 'Oh the Places You'll Go'. And now years later, at another crossroads I picked it up again. I was moved by the words and images.

The book is a great conversation starter for both adults and kids. The euphoric highs, the fear, the slumps, the waiting...it's stuff we can all relate to. I used the book to talk about life goals, motivation and beliefs in my 'Morning Mojo' group. This is a group that I host and organise inspiring meet-ups for. While drawing and talking, we came to our own insights and learned from each other. Moving out of the 'Waiting Room' and charting your own path was a common thread in our stories. Here's a great short article by Raad Rahman that examines the book and draws some important life-lessons from it.

bottom of page